1. Vai direttamente al menu principale
  2. Vai direttamente al contenuto
  3. Vai direttamente al menu di destra
Home Discover the land Staffolo What to visit in Staffolo
What to visit in Staffolo
The castle of Staffolo PDF Print E-mail

It was built in the XI century on a hillock of sandstone of a regular shape. Its walls have an ovoidal shape, similar to a stirrup. Along the town walls made of  little stone blocks, there are two gates: Porta Venezia and Porta San Martino, located on opposite sides of the hill.
The village is crossed by orthogonal streets, arranged in a sort of chessboard. Walking along the streets and the lanes of Staffolo it is possible to enjoy a quiet and picturesque atmosphere.
The houses and the palaces send an echo of their antiquity also through inscriptions and bas-reliefs that adorn their doors and fronts (it’s to see especially the town-hall and Monte frumentario, XV century).
Externally, the town walls are reinforced by a scarp wall and some towers, including the cylindrical one called “of the Albornoz” (XIV century).

Show in GOOGLE MAPS.

 

 
Museum of the Art of Wine PDF Print E-mail

This little but interesting wine cellar-museum is located in some beautiful rooms that are along the town walls. These rooms have been made out of a hospital of XV century. The museum pays homage to the local tradition of wine production. Already in the Middle Ages an excellent wine was produced, and today the famous Verdicchio yet. Inside the rooms of this museum, arranged on the three floors of the building, are exposed many tools used for wine production, such as vats, casks, funnels, wine-presses, a wooden corking of XIX century and a particular hand-blown glass bottler. All these tools are well preserved. The more interesting piece is surely the monumental oak-tree wooden winepress, with a hand carved stone base (1695).
In this building there is also a wine cellar, in which it is possible to taste and buy the best wines produced in Staffolo.

Musan.it

Show in GOOGLE MAPS.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Church of San Francesco PDF Print E-mail
Church of San Francesco
The building belonged to a convent rose in the second half of the thirteenth century near the church of Sant’Egidio. Its origin can be known through the portal, very similar to the one of Sant’Egidio, and through the construction of the convent. The cloister of the convent is covered and it became the Theatre “Pietro Cotini” (XX century). To see the original octagonal bell-tower, which is directly located on the sloop of the hill, and which is inside the walls of the castle.
The inside of the church is with an unique aisle and it was restructured in neoclassical style. The works of art contained in the church are very precious; between them we remind the “Eterno Padre e quattro sante” by Maffeo Verona (1576-1618), the “Madonna col Bambino tra san Rocco e san Sebastiano” by Filippo Bellini (1530-1603) and others baroque paintings, one of which represents Staffolo (XVII century). Above the entrance there is the precious organ of 1769, the 51th work of the famous Venetian organ-builder Gaetano Callido (1717-1813).
 
 
Church of San Egidio PDF Print E-mail

Dedicated to the patron saint of Staffolo, the parish church is a Romanesque building that was restructured between XVI and XVII century. The entrance is decorated with a beautiful thirteenth’s century portal of white stone, engraved with floral drawings.
The church contains a polyptych of the first half of the fifteenth century, ascribed to a skilful artist conventionally called Master of Staffolo, a painter from Fabriano who was a follower of Gentile da Fabriano. The polyptych represents the “Madonna col Bambino tra san Giovanni Battista, san Pietro,  sant’Egidio e san Paolo”, with an elegant predella with the “Storie di sant’Egidio”. Another wooden predella is conserved too, but this is without the picture, representing the “Incoronazione, Visitazione, Natività della Vergine” ascribed to the school of Lorenzo Lotto (XVI century).
Some years ago, during some repairs, frescos that represent the “Santi Rocco e Biagio” (XV century) have been found near the front door.

Show in GOOGLE MAPS. 

 


 

logo Parco Gola della Rossa e Frasassi

logo Comunità Montana

Logo accessibilità

Logo attestante il superamento, ai sensi della Legge n. 4/2004, della verifica tecnica di accessibilità.