1. Vai direttamente al menu principale
  2. Vai direttamente al contenuto
  3. Vai direttamente al menu di destra
Home Discover the land Sassoferrato Itineraries in the municipality
itineraries in the town of Sassoferrato PDF Print E-mail
The municipality of Sassoferrato is very large, and there are preserved a large quantity of artworks, monuments and natural beauties. Here we will tell about some sites particularly charming and well preserved.

Route 1
Downstream of the castle of Sassoferrato, towards Fabriano, stood the Roman city of Sentinum, which probably took its name from the river that still flows nearby. The town disappeared during the Greek-Gothic war (VI century BC.), but on its ruins rose Sassoferrato and the abbey of “Santa Croce dei Conti”, which were built with stones, bricks and columns of the ancient buildings.

Archaeological Regional Park of Sentinum - Musan.it
The area where the Roman city of Sentinum developed is rich in archaeological evidences covering a period of time that goes by I century B.C. to the III century A.D.  Some sections of the city walls are still visible, but in particular are well-preserved the ancient streets, paved with large stones in white limestone and bounded by sidewalks. Later  was discovered a large spa complex, in which is easily recognizable the typical structure of Roman baths with the sequence of low-temperature environments (frigidarium), lukewarm (tepidarium) and warmed (calidarium). Finally, have been found some rooms of a bronze workshop.
Nearby, in the village of Santa Lucia, has been excavated a large building, datable to the second century. A.D., interpreted as private villa or building to accommodate travelers. In the middle part there is a large courtyard with traces of mosaic floors and columns in the red marble of Verona and  an imposing spa bulding.

Abbey of Santa Croce dei Conti
Just outside the old town is located this abbey (second half of the XII century), wrapped in the forest. Situated on Monte Santa Croce, in isolated position, is a very fascinating and not very known Romanesque monument, probably the work of craftsmen from Lombardy. For its construction was used a lot of material coming from the nearby Roman city of Sentinum, such as the mighty columns of stone. Outside is to see the fifteenth century bell-tower and the arch of the stone portal decorated with geometric and floral motifs, which stands on the capitals carved with the repertoire of the medieval bestiary.
Inside, the columns have capitals of various shapes with floreal, animal and human motifs (second half of the XII century). Important are the frescoes by the school of Fabriano of the fourteenth century decorating one of the apses, representing the “Vita leggendaria di S.Tommaso apostolo”. Other frescoes are on the columns, among which we can see a "Santa Scolastica" and a “Sant'Alberto”, and in a chapel there is an exceptional wooden “Paliotto” of the seventeenth century decorated in gold, probably a work of the French engraver Leonardo Scaglia.

Route 2
Also Sassoferrato had its own system of castles that controlled the territory and surrounded the chief town. Despite the changes occurred over time, the visit of the small villages of Castagna, Monterosso, Rotondo and Coldellanoce is suggestive. Cabernardi is a center of less ancient origin, but it is the most important site for the industrial archeology.

In 1886 here began mining, after the discovery of deposits of sulfur. Seventy years of industrial activity are described in the “Museo della Miniera di Zolfo”, through the many evidences of the life in the mines. Working equipment and for the extraction of mineral, anti-gas masks, helmets, pneumatic hammers, lamps, planimetries and the model of the mine with the two main wells show the activity of the miners and the hardness of a work of the past.
On display also the raw material, the sulfur, as it was extracted, in crystals, in pieces of 50 kilos and pure after the processing. Are also shown other minerals (pyrite, aragonite, copper, fluorite, quartz, etc..), donated by the miners of Cabernardi. Evocative is also the room that houses the photographic material (more than two hundred pieces) and the newspaper clippings of the past, which show not only the life in the mine and the dramatic moments that preceded its closure, but also moments of celebration and entertainment for miners .

The settlement was born probably in the XII century and was fortified in the XIV century. This is a castle significantly different from the other castles in the area: it is not perched on top of a mountain, but it is on a valley bottom. The presence of a moat protected certain sides of the castle, while an artificial moat completed the rest of the fortification. Today, unfortunately, not much has been preserved and also the ancient church of San Lorenzo was demolished.
Inside the new church of the nineteenth century there are two beautiful works of the art of Marche region: a "Madonna del Rosario”, a fresco by Ercole Ramazzani (1535-1598) and a triptych by Matteo from Gualdo (XV century) with the "Madonna col Bambino tra San Lorenzo e San Sebastiano”, in a typical gilded frame in Gothic style.

logo Parco Gola della Rossa e Frasassi

logo Comunità Montana

Logo accessibilità

Logo attestante il superamento, ai sensi della Legge n. 4/2004, della verifica tecnica di accessibilità.